Week 9 – Art Activity – Art Care Package

For this Art Care Package activity, I thought it was very easy because I was already thinking of making a package for my friend who lives in Canada. I got her my favorite chocolate and cookies along with the souvenirs I bought when I went to Singapore last month. I had fun collecting all of the items I wanted to get for her because I wanted her to have my favorites. I really love snacks that are green tea flavored or cookies and cream so I got her those snacks. Even though it seems easy getting these for her, it was kind of hard due to my busy schedule. Between school, home, and work, the asian market was out of the way and it was quite far to get to. I had to plan out when I was going to drive there to just get her the snacks I wanted her to try. I’m excited for her to get this package and see her reaction when she tries out my favorite snacks.

  1. How is sending someone an ACP similar to sending someone a Snapchat?
    1. Sending someone an ACP similar to sending someone a Snapchat is because you thought of that person and sending them something shows them that you were thinking about them.
  2. How is sending someone an ACP different from sending them a Snapchat?
    1. Sending someone an ACP different from sending them a Snapchat is because you put more effort into the ACP. You actually have to plan out the items you are planning to get for them and you’re going to spend more time gathering the products. Money can also be involved with the process of preparing the ACP.
  3. What do you think of ephemera? Is it precious? Or trash? Does it gain in value over time? Does your grandma’s parking ticket from half a century ago mean something to you? What about her tickets from Woodstock? What might your grandkids think if you one day gave them the bead bracelet you wore at Coachella?
    1. What I think of ephemera is something meaningful but only lasts a short amount of time. I don’t think it’s considered a trash because it does mean something to someone. I collect movie tickets because when I stumble upon it in my drawer or my desk, I get nostalgic and reminisce  about the time when I watched that movie and who I was with, etc.
  4. Is there a difference between art that is seen by many people, like a painting in the Museum of Modern Art, and art that is seen by few, like the ACP you send to someone?
    1. I don’t think that there is a difference if an art is seen by many people. I guess there are perks if it’s hung up in museum or known by a lot of people worldwide, but I think it doesn’t make a difference if only one saw it. An art is an art and it won’t change if it’s seen by one or hundreds of people. As long as it is appreciate by someone is the only thing that’s important, in my opinion.
  5. You can take a Snapchat and a friend on the other side of the globe can view it, all within seconds. To make an ACP and send it even to a nearby friend will take days. Does this time and effort difference mean something? How is fast better? How is slow better?
    1. Making an ACP does take time and effort and it does make a difference. More people would appreciate something that is not a perfect creation, but a lot of time and effort was used to create it than an expensive item without actually putting a meaning to it. If someone gave me a painting they did that wasn’t perfect, I would be happier because they created it than someone getting me a poster that they just got from a store.
  6. People sometimes say things like prepare a meal with love.Can you prepare a meal with love as fast as you can get food at a McDonald’s drive-thru? Does an ACP have the possibility of containing a sort of “love” different from a Snapchat?
    1.   An ACP does have the possibility of containing a sort of “love” different from a Snapchat because you put more effort into creating it. With Snapchat, you can just take a selfie or anything and send it to that person. With ACP, you actually care about what you’re going to get for this person, how are you going to package it, if you’re going to write tiny notes with it, etc. I think that if you are planning to prepare an ACP for someone, that shows that you already love and care for this person because I don’t think anyone would just make an ACP for anyone they barely knew.

 

img_5335

 

Leave a Reply

