Week 10 – Art Activity – Fiber art Social Networking

For this activity, I connected my picture to Hannah. I got there early and only few people had their pictures up who I don’t really know. Hannah and I had a classmate conversation and I learned few things about her.

fullsizerender

I decided to draw my tree diagram about my family. John is my oldest brother and Zha is his wife. I drew me in the middle of John and Michael because I’m the middle child. I drew the line that connects Michael and I together blue to differentiate my connection between my older brother. Even though John and I have the same birthday, I am more closer to my youngest brother.

 

Do you think of the term “Social Network” as applying to your RL life and your RL, physical friends? Or mostly to Online & Mobile tools that connect you to people in cyberspace?

I think the word “Social Network” can be applied to all of those topics (RL, RL friends, online and mobile tools to connect you to people in cyberspace). I know a lot of people, including myself, made friends via online. It doesn’t have to be people you know in real life to connect on social network. You can connect yourself with people you already know in real life on social network and connect with people who you just met online.

Does Dunbar’s Numbermake sense to you? That we can only have around 150 truly meaningful relationships, and any others we know will be in more fragmentary ways?

I can agree with Dunbar’s Number. I think that there is a limit with how many people you can formulate create a stable relationship with. Nowadays, it is hard to keep up with my life, I think it’ll be really hard to keep up with all of my friends. The less relationships you have with people, the more meaningful it can be.

What does it mean to have 1,000 or 2,000 or 5,000 Facebook “friends”? Who are these people? What sorts of relationships do you have to them?

I think people who have 1000+ friends on Facebook don’t really know those people. I think it is just a number to increase someone’s popularity.

When we visualized our Art110 Social Network, or when you visualized your personal Social Network, did anything surprise you? Did you find any connections or relationships that you hadn’t thought about or realized any different connections?

I think when I visualized my personal Social Network, I realized that there are some people who I barely talked to in real life. I know a few of them through my organization and they added me, but they don’t really talk to me in real life. Just a hi and a bye, but no meaningful conversation exchanged between us.

What’s your Personal Number?How many people would you like to have close relationships with in your life? 1? 10? 100? 1,000?

My personal number would probably be 5, if family wasn’t included. I’m an introvert and imagining having 100 friends wouldn’t excite me. I know I wouldn’t be able to form a meaningful relationship with them.

Do you have more “friends” on Facebook or some other platform than are truly your “friends”? What is your relationship to those “extra friends”? Have these weak tiesever brought you new resources like a job opening, someone to date, a cool event, info for something you were working on, etc?

I have more family and relatives on my Facebook since I don’t really add people who I don’t know. I added few people who I know but don’t really know know. These are the people who I know that can keep me updated on important stuff if I didn’t know it.

 

Leave a Reply

