Week 10 – Artist Conversation – Tony Nguyen

Artist: Tony Nguyen

Exhibition: Neoteny

Gallery: Dr. Maxine Merlino Gallery

Media: Metal

Website: http://www.eltigresite.wordpress.com

About the Artists

Tony Nguyen is a fifth-year senior at California State University, Long Beach majoring in BFA Metalsmith. He is the only one in his family who pursue a field in art and fortunately, his family supports his choice. Post-graduation, he plans to work in Hollywood to make props and movie equipment and be a professor in the future. He got his “metal skill” from his father who is a handyman. He is very close to his family and hopes to stay close to them throughout his life.

Formal Analysis

img_3617

Tony’s artwork consists of metal. Each of his sculptures has a unique style. One of his piece is a metal glove and it somewhat reminded me of ironman. They are made of aluminum. Tony accurately measured the metals so it would exactly fit with the other parts. One of his sculpture could be worn or wear as a bracelet. It has a silver finish to it and it took him almost six weeks to finish.

 

 

 

Content Analysis

This exhibition, Neoteny, allows his viewers to feel nostalgic. He wants his viewers to relive their childhood and remember the fun they had growing up. This exhibition also represents his childhood experiences and stories, his hobbies, and influences from other people. One of his artwork seems like a gumball machine with containers in it. With this sculpture, many people would give it a confused look and react to it in a different way. This exhibition achieved its goal of reminding his viewers of their childhood and feeling nostalgic.

My Experience

My experience with this exhibition was that I felt nostalgic when I saw the gumball machine. Growing up, my parents didn’t have that much money to buy me those popular toys and I would always get excited when I get a toy from the machine. It reminded me of how many toys I got in those containers and how much of a struggle it was opening those. I really like this exhibition because it made me remember the little things that made me happy when I was a child.

Leave a Reply

